Self Reliance (Adp. of essay by R. W. Emerson)

The original essay:
Society is a joint-stock company, in which the members agree, for the better securing of his bread to each shareholder, to surrender the liberty and culture of the eater. The virtue in most request is conformity. Self-reliance is its aversion. The world whips you with its displeasure by your nonconformity .
We want men and women to renew the life and social status, but we see that the majority can not meet their own needs and, therefore, bow and beg continuously. We fear the truth, we fear the fortune, we fear death and we fear each other. Awaken courage and constancy in our chest. This can be done telling the truth. A real human being is all a cause, then  know our own value; do not peek or sneak as an intrusion at the world that is made for us. Believe in your mind and express your belief as always the more intimate becomes the outer.
No law can be sacred to me, except my own nature. What matters to me is what I have to do, not what others think. If others hate me is because in somehow I allowed it. Why should we assume the faults of others? Just because they say they have the same blood as us? All humans have the same blood and I have all, but  not really share their madness. Take the way from humanity, not to them. Do not pour your soul; take save your state. Speak today what you think today and tomorrow what you think tomorrow, even if it contrary what you said today. Believe in your emotion.  Your genuine action will explain itself. Your conformity explains nothing. It’s easy to live in the world in accordance with the opinion of others. It’s easy to live by yourself in solitude. We have what we love but by desire we deprive ourselves of love. We postpone or remember but the beauty of original thought and expression are so close to us as to any other. Insists yourself. The one who knows that power resides in the soul trusts in his own thoughts.
Do not expect me to show you the cause of my seeking or avoiding company. There is a class of persons which I am bound by all sorts of affinities, but others do not belong to me nor I to them. Or your kindness has  limit or it does not exist. People do what is called a good deed in a way very similar to paying a bill. The virtue is rather the exception than the rule. I do not wish to expiate, but to live. My life is not an excuse: it’s a life. Exists for itself and not as a spectacle. I can not consent to pay for a privilege where I have an intrinsic right. For the few that are my gifts, I really am and requires no secondary testimony to my conviction. My life is unique. I must be myself. If you can love me for what I am, we shall be the happier. If you cannot, I will still seek to deserve that you should. Not conceal my likes and dislikes, nor offend me or you with hypocrites attentions. If you are true, but not of the same truth that I, go with your teammates, I will seek my own.
Humans have looked out of themselves for so long that just measuring the esteem of each other in terms of what they have and not what they are. The dissatisfaction is lack of confidence; a lack of firmness of will. The strength of character is cumulative. The secret of fortune is joy in our hands. Nothing but you  can bring peace to yourself. It is only when a man is free from all external supports, and is alone, that I see him become strong and prevail. The sense of existence that in times of calm blunts in the soul, is intuition. We must follow all alone. Isolation must precede true sociability, but should be spiritual, must be elevation. The soul is above the passions. Do not wander aimlessly.
Esse post foi publicado em Actvism. Bookmark o link permanente.

Deixe uma resposta

